Home /
Alumni / Notable Alumni - Class of 1842
page tools :
email page print page small type default type large type

Announcing the newest inductee to "The Class of 1842"

We will recognize Charles F. Boyd with “The Class of 1842” award at the 2017 Reunion Weekend dinner on Saturday, October 21, to honour his 50 years of selfless and tireless work at Pickering College, to recognize his deep and abiding dedication to the human spirit, as a Presbyterian Minister, a teacher, a mentor, a coach, a counsellor, and for his advocacy for all people, especially those with disabilities, in our community.

Charles hails from Ballyclare, Belfast. Charles graduated from Trinity College in Dublin as a Presbyterian Minister. Charles came to Canada to study Theology in 1958 and completed a B.D. He then decided to pursue teaching, and has never regretted his decision.

Charles Boyd has continued to be a minister for over 50 years, serving a variety of parishes throughout Ontario and officiating at hundreds of weddings and funerals over those years for the many people who value his kind, compassionate and thoughtful approach. He takes an almost Quakerly approach to religion, with an amazing and unshakeable belief in the goodness in every human being and the perfectability of the human spirit.

As a horse breeder and thoroughbred enthusiast, Charles saw the unique role horses and riding could play in benefiting people with disabilities and was Chairman of the Board of CARD – Canadian Association of Riders with Disabilities for many years. He also helped establish New Leaf: Living and Learning – an organization providing services and supports in the community to persons who have an intellectual disability and a dual diagnosis (developmental disability and accompanying mental health or behavioural issue).

Throughout all of this time, since 1967, he has also been a teacher and staff member, serving his one and only school, Pickering College. During his teaching years, he advised some 300 advisees and profoundly influenced somewhere in the neighbourhood of 5,000 students. He is remembered fondly by his students whom he coached, predominantly in soccer and rugby, leading his teams to numerous championships. More recently his donation of a 75 acre farm to Pickering College is not only the most generous gift any person has given to his school, but has also allowed Outdoor Education to become a focal point from JK to Grade 12.

In September 2017, Pickering College will be celebrating her 175th birthday. In September 2017, Charles Boyd will have completed 50 years at Pickering College, the longest tenure of any employee, ever. We are proud to honour this man, who has so profoundly influenced so many thousands of students, who is the heart and soul and spirit of the school, and who has had more impact than any staff, student, alumni or parent, by conferring to him “The Class of 1842 Award”. Charles Boyd upholds the mission and values of Pickering College by having the strength and commitment to make our community greater, better and more beautiful than he discovered it. Our congratulations go to Charles Boyd for earning a place in “The Class of 1842".

“Pickering College has become more than a place to work. It became a way of life where people have enriched my life and I trust in some small measure I may have enriched theirs. This is an institution which has burned its way into my life and I would not ask for it to be otherwise.” Charles Boyd

Year Award Granted Name of Recipient Affiliation
1981John Wendell HolmesFaculty 1938-1940
1981 John MeiselClass of 1943
1982Berners Archdale Wallace JacksonClass of 1933
1982Ronald Harris PerryFaculty 1927-1941
1982Gerard Nigel Tinling Widdrington1927-1938
1983Harry McWaters BeerClass of 1937
1983Dixon S. ChantClass of 1931
1983Charles RitchieFaculty 1931-1937
1984Fred HaganFaculty 1931-1946
1985Ward CornellClass of 1943
1986Martin ShubikClass of 1943
1987T. Randle IdeFaculty 1940-1942
1988The Hon. Hugh EdighofferClass of 1947
1989Duncan Ferguson CameronClass of 1949
1990James Douglas ReedClass of 1958
1991Allan David RogersClass of 1941
1992Lt. Col. The Hon. Henry Newton Rowell JackmanClass of 1951
1993Issac WilliamsonClass of 1941
1994Peter Nigel Tinling WiddringtonClass of 1948
1995Ronald O. MooreClass of 1938
1995Brian E. PurdyClass of 1956
1996Alvin H. JewellFaculty 1948-1997
1996Kenneth W. McNaughtFaculty 1942
1997Jane Zavitz-BondFaculty1976-1997
1998Jud Purdy FacultyFaculty 1956-1968
2000Charles H. BeerClass of 1959
2004Edward "Ted" J. BondClass of 1948
2006Peter J. NewberyClass of 1957
2007Julian Tudor HartClass of 1945
2008Hugh Hanson DavidsonClass of 1948
2011Michael MackenzieFaculty 1944-1945
2013Dr. Gregory DopulosClass of 1968
2015James BrownClass of 1969

powered by finalsite